Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Halogen Cutout Back Jacquard Dress (On Sale for $49)

Last Saturday, a friend and I hit up Michigan Avenue for brunch and a morning of Labor Day Sale shopping.  We started at Nordstrom for their 40% off Clearance Sale.  I’d heard good things about the Halogen Petites Line carried at Nordstrom and I wasn’t disappointed.

Nordstrom/Halogen

First – Halogen makes Petite sizing up to Size XL (16-18)!   That, in and of itself, is amazing and deserves a round of applause.  Finding petite size options above size 12 is practically unheard of, and since petites tend to run small, additional size options are a welcome change.

Second – Halogen designs are focused on professional to casual wear.  Many of their items are designed to be styled for work to transition easily into casual evening or weekend wear.  Here are some of my favorites from the Halogen line from the Nordstrom Sale Online (Sale goes until September 7th).

Halogensalepicks

From Left to Right: Zip front Leather Jacket in Deep Burgundy (Available in Regular Size L & XL online; Sold out online in Petite sizing but may be available in store); Stretch Cotton Blend Pencil Skirt in Dark Indigo (Still Available in 10P-16P online); Stretch Woven A-Line Skirt (Stripes only available in stores, other patterns available in 14P & 16P online)

Each of these items are a bit too casual for formal office setting, but would be great for a business casual office or a casual Friday.  I love the structured design of the skirts combined with stretch material that is designed to give.  Plus, the skirts are on sale for just $35!

But, all of the gushing about Halogen aside, I went in to the store looking for one specific dress. Wedding season is wrapping up but I still have a number of events coming up in the next few months and I was looking for something that I could transition into fall.  I was hoping to find the dress pictured at the top of this post. Unfortunately, a sale associate informed me that they had sold out of the dress in petites.  I decided to peruse the sale racks anyway and, to my surprise and delight, ended up finding this:

Suit Skirt (Regular & Petite)

Suit Skirt (Still Available online in 6P-16P); Suit Jacket (Still Available online in 0P-14P)

Some details:  First, this suit has a great subtle gold-tone pattern that makes it more interesting than a standard brown-grey suit.  Second – Two-Button Blazer!  I can’t say enough about this.  For any curvy lady out there who has ever tried to deal with the ill-fitting gap a single-button blazer can have (and the attention it draws to all the wrong places), a two-button blazer is a godsend.  Finally – the length on both the jacket and the skirt hit perfectly – no alterations needed.

Halogensuit

Skirt: Halogen Suit Skirt (wearing size 12P); Jacket: Halogen Suit Jacket (Also in size 12P); Shell: LOFT, old, similar color and style in current line here;  Shoes: Nine West Oliva Peep Toe Pumps in Black Leather 

In the past, I’ve had trouble finding suits in the petites section that fit me well. I normally end up buying half a suit in petites and the other half in regulars then having it altered.  So, even though I was looking for a dress, I’m excited to show off my new suit.  Plus – even though they were sold out of the cutout dress in petites – they still had one left in regular sizing that I tried on.  It needs some alterations but for the price I couldn’t pass it up.  More on that in a later post.

~N

Note: This post is not affiliated with Halogen, Nordstrom, or any other brand.  All opinions shared are my own.  Photos not watermarked or indicated as belonging to petiteandcurvy are not my own and I claim no ownership or rights to them.

