Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

DayOut2

What a busy day! Last Saturday, Jason’s family was in town to visit, and we had tickets with some friends to go the Museum of Contemporary Art. (In fact, the MCA’s new David Bowie Exhibit inspired this post’s title!)

Museum of Contemporary Art

Left: Art Sculpture in the Square at the MCA.  Right (Both):  Museum Special Exhibit Description Signs. 

After the museum we went to a local street festival, and finally we had dinner reservations at a restaurant called Acre (which I highly recommend for those of you in the Chicago-land area for a nice dinner out). I knew I wouldn’t have much time to come home and change so I had to plan a versatile outfit the would be comfortable enough to walk in all day, warm enough for outside, and also nice enough for dinner.

Acre Festival

Left: We bought a new piece of wall art – I think this will go in our kitchen.  Right:  The front window at Acre Restaurant.

DayOut1

What I’m wearing:  Old Navy “The Sweetheart” Boot Cut Jeans; LOFT Shell (Old) – Similar Here; Faux-Leather Cropped Bomber Jacket (Old) – Similar Here, Here, and Here; Heeled Booties (Old) – Similar Here

I decided on this pair of dark wash boot-cut jeans, a neutral shell, and my favorite cropped leather jacket for a slightly edgier look. Then,  I matched it with my favorite pair of heeled booties to give me a little bit of extra height. These boots have a wider heel so they are actually comfortable to walk in for long periods of time, despite the heel height.

DayOut3

My favorite part of this look was being able to change it up during the day. I could wear my jacket over my shoulders, giving it more of a fashion-editor vibe. Or, I could put my arms through to help pull everything together and keep me a bit warmer.

Readers: When you need an outfit to transition easily for different events – what are your go-to items?

~Nyk

