Dressing for an after work party can be challenging – balancing party dresses and fun clothes with professional attire for the office beforehand.  For me, The holiday cocktail party season started early, and my first “holiday” event was on November 5.  So, I started my holiday shopping a bit early and picked up some things to wear both in and out of the office.

As a petite and curvy girl, here are some of the major problems I run into with cocktail dresses:

  • Too long – A longer dress might look ok for the office, but for me, it just doesn’t have the right feel for an after work party.
  • Too low cut – As a well-endowed woman, I have enough problems being taken seriously without drawing unnecessary attention.  Plus, anything that shows off too much of the “goods” and I risk looking unprofessional, which is the last thing I want to do at a work-related event.
  • Too tight in all the wrong places – I hate finding a dress that has a great neckline, a perfect length, and then I try it on, and suddenly it’s like I’m wearing Lululemon yoga pants before the recall. Don’t get me wrong, I love my… assets. But, just like my comment above, too tight and I risk looking unprofessional.

To get me through the holiday season, here is one of my recently purchased items and how I take it from day to night.

