Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello all,

I am sorry for my absence – I caught the flu which, needless to say, made blogging a bit difficult.  But (hopefully) I’ll be back now and I’ll have more petite and curvy fashion to share to wrap up 2014 and kick off the new year!

First, I’m going to start with my “Holiday Gift Giving Guide for 2014” – and a short rant. Because I’ve been seeing a number of holiday gift giving guides on other sites and blogs that really drive me up a wall.  Don’t get me wrong, I love looking at pretty, shiny things.  It’s part of why I started a blog!  But… realistically, I’m not going to spend $50 on “hostess gifts” for each party I attend.  Moreover, does anyone actually want thirty holiday scented candles or half a dozen coffee table books about trendy topics for this year?

So, this is my Realistic Holiday Gift Guide for 2014.

For the Workaholic:

nakedontherun

Urban Decay – Naked On The Run Palette – $57 at Sephora 

For a limited time, Urban Decay has released this “Naked on the Run” palette. This comes with – 6 eyeshadows, blush, bronzer, lipgloss, eyeliner, mascara, and a giant mirror – everything you need to do quickly throw on some makeup on the go in a single case that’s smaller than a Kindle.  I bought one of these and threw it in my desk the day I heard about it and it’s already come in handy for those busy mornings when I was in a hurry to get out the door and didn’t quite have time to get all my makeup on.

For the Foodie:

foodie

Saffron+Kumquats Gift Subscription – Starting at $15 

For as little as $15, Saffron+Kumquats will send you a box with 5 exotic spices and the recipes to use them in.  All you have to do is cook.  If you are buying a gift for someone who enjoys cooking and trying new things, this is unique and perfect.

For the Commuter:

audiobook

Audible Gift Subscriptions – Starting at $45 

Audible.com is a fantastic website.  Millions of audiobooks and once you have a subscription, you get a book for free each month – so a $45 subscription will get your loved one at least 3 audiobooks!  But, if $45 is a little out of your price range, or an Audible subscription is not really the type of thing your commuter friend or loved one would go for – amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com have a number of audiobooks or digital versions that would be perfect for someone reading on a kindle, nook, or listening on a mobile device.

For the Gamer:

gaming

Dominion Board Game – Available many places online – Averaging $35-40 

Ok – so I know that most “Gamers” wouldn’t automatically think about board games when they ask for gifts… but hear me out.  This game is actually a great way to bridge the gap with the gamers in your life, especially if you’re not much of a gamer yourself.   Relatively easy to learn, with many of the same magical and strategic elements that gamers love, this game uses cards and has a number of expansions to help avoid boredom or repetition.

Alternatively, if you don’t already own it, Cards Against Humanity is another great game – though not for the faint of heart, or easily offended…   It’s available on Amazon for $25.

For the Techie:

bandocharger

Bando – Portable Charger for iPhone (available in several patterns) – $30 

I’ve seen this charger pop up more and more, and frankly, I wish I had one and I may end up buying one for myself by the time the Christmas season is over.

For Anyone:

HotChocolateonastick

Hot Chocolate on a Stick Gift Bags – Homemade (Price will vary depending on the quality of the Chocolate)

Homemade gifts take some time but can turn out wonderfully.  Jason and I followed the recipe from 30 Pounds of Apples to make the Hot Chocolate Sticks above and we liked them so much that they didn’t leave the house.   Something like this will only take you about 30 minutes of actual active time to make, but by making them in advance, you will have them all ready to go when you need them.

Homemade cookies and candies, and other holiday treats also make great gifts.  Below are some of my favorites.  Michaels, JoAnn Fabrics, and even Dollar Tree and other discount stores sell adorable and inexpensive gift boxes. Take a few minutes to wrap up cookies or candies in tissue paper and put them in a box and they’ll look as good as store bought, and taste twice as good.

Happy Holidays!

~Nyk

