Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello!

I hope that all of you are had a safe and happy NYE!  Welcome to a new year – full of (hopefully) exciting new times.

I don’t normally set “resolutions” but I do try to give myself some goals to aim for at the beginning of each new year.   Here’s a list of some of my “boons and bummers” for myself and the world from 2014 and then my personal goals for 2015:

Boons:

1.  This year was full of changes for me – I took a big leap, changed jobs and moved to Chicago.  But I adore my neighborhood – it’s full of great places and interesting people, and I’m always learning new things.  My apartment… is still a work in progress.

2. Conchita Wurst won the Eurovision Song Contest.  I mean, wow.  First – I’m pretty sure her she consistently has better eyeliner than me.  And also, amazing fashion sense for woman with a beard!  Either way, what an amazing step forward in equal rights.

3.  I started this blog and I feel really confident about it moving forward.  I’m still growing the number of readers – but I don’t think that will ever change – and I’m still working some other aspects – but more on that in goals.

4.  Ok, so I know this book isn’t “new” but it was new to me in that I just read it this year.  This year I finally got around to reading Devil in the White City.  For a book written in a mostly non-fiction style, I literally couldn’t stop reading.

Bummers:

1.  I lost track of my health and fitness goals and lifestyle when my schedule changed so much after I moved.  I used to go running or do yoga several times a week.  Now, I mostly hit the gym on the weekends, and my yoga mat has been collecting dust for several weeks.

2. Russian has still taken over Crimea.  For those of you who don’t remember the crisis in Ukraine/Kyiv/Crimea from March this year – Russia is still occupying that area of Eastern Europe.  Also, Malaysian Airlines Flight 370 is still missing.

3. The Serial Podcast Ending.  (Spoilers Alert)  I mean, seriously?  I discovered this a bit late in the game and I kind of binge-listened to the first two-thirds of the podcast series to get to what?  An ending that was “Well, we don’t really know much more than we did in the first episode…”  And that bit about “maybe it was a serial killer”?  Ok, I don’t want to think he did it and even I don’t buy that it was that guy.  I mean, 1) there was no evidence of sexual assault, and 2) how did Jay know where her car was then?   The end of that just made me want to yell at my iPhone.

4.  The ending of Gone Girl (The Book – I’m still too angry to watch the movie.)  (Again – Spoilers Alert)   Really – your psychopathic wife sets up you and who knows how many other people and there are how many other people that kind of think she’s crazy too and you could possibly get out and take your kid but instead – you’re just going to go with it?!?!   If it weren’t for the fact that I bought this as an e-book and was reading it on my Nook, I would have thrown this book over on the other side of the room when I finished it, just for spite.

And now… on to 2015:

Goals:

1.  Blogging Goals:  First, I have actually been writing two blogs since around the middle of October.  This blog and also a blog called “The Alimentarian” which has been focusing on recipes and cooking.   I have decided to simplify things and to merge the two blogs.  This blog will largely stay the same but over the course the next few weeks, I will gradually start transition some of the posts and information from The Alimentarian over to this blog with special food tags so that this blog is the only one I write.   Second, I am going to try to start posting more regularly.  I haven’t decided exactly what this means yet.  But ideally I think I’d like to post an outfit or a fashion commentary at least once a week, and other posts sporadically.

2.  Get back to having a regular exercise/fitness schedule.  I know from experience that no matter how much I exercise or how much I weigh that I’m always going to have curves and that I’m always going to want to be fashionable at any size.  But, I feel so much better mentally and physically when I go to the gym or do yoga or even head outside for some frisbee three or four times a week.  So, this year, my goal is to do something active at least three days a week.

3. Read more diverse books.  I’ve always been a voracious reader.  But, I’ve tended lately toward reading the same types of books.  I think it’s time to challenge myself to read something different.  I’m thinking that this year, I maybe try to complete this Reading Challenge from PopSugar.  We’ll see how it goes.

4.  Finally finish unpacking and organizing my apartment.  I’ve lived in my apartment in Chicago for over six months now and I can think of at least 3 cardboard boxes that I haven’t even opened yet.  And that doesn’t even count the stuff that I have opened and then just set somewhere “to deal with later”.  This year, I will go through all of this stuff and organize it, donate it, or throw it away – hopefully before I move again!

Readers:  Do you make goals or resolutions?  Have you kept them in the past?  What are you goals or resolutions for this year? 

