Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_1614

I don’t know about you, but relaxation is not one of my strong suits.  I came across this article a few days ago and the author’s situation sounded a little too familiar.

So, this weekend I decided that I would take a little bit of time and pamper myself.  I’ve made these three DIY treatments and I plan to take some time and relax.  I thought I would share the recipes with you.

Readers: How do you unwind?

Cinnamon Coconut Sugar Scrub

IMG_1602

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

This scrub smells so good that I have a hard time stopping myself from just eating it with a spoon when I make it.

IMG_1606

To put it together just mix all three ingredients.  It helps to melt the coconut oil slightly but be careful not to get it too hot or you will melt your sugar when you mix it.  I put mine in the microwave for about 10 seconds.

Avocado Honey Moisturizing Mask

IMG_1611_2

Ingredients:

  • 1 Half of a Ripe Avocado
  • 1 Tablespoon Honey

My favorite part of this mask is that you get a beauty treatment plus a snack!  I used the other half of my avocado to make a nice fruit and avocado smoothie to drink while I was relaxing.  Make sure that your avocado is ripe enough or you will have a hard time getting it to a good mask consistency.

IMG_1612

Then just mix the two ingredients together.  Make sure that you plan to use it soon after you make it or the mask will turn brown.  After your mask is made, apply it to a clean face.  Allow to sit for 10 to 15 minutes then wash off.

Lavender Bath Salts 

IMG_1608

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Epson Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Soda
  • 2 Tablespoons Lavender Scented Massage Oil or 1 Teaspoon Lavender Essential Oil
  • 2 Drops Food Coloring

Again, to make this dish, just mix together all of the ingredients.  I chose to use blue food coloring for this even though I always have a bit of worry that I’ll use it and end up looked like a smurf (I never do).  But you can use any color you want.

IMG_1609

When you want to use it, just add a handful or more to a warm bath.

